Janusz Piotrowicz: Piano Recital

Saturday 29 October 2022 19:30 - 21:00

Following his wonderful concert in November 2019, Janusz Piotrowicz, ‘Master Poet of the Piano’, returns with a recital of works by Scarlati, Mozart and, of course, Chopin.


Scarlatti                                       Sonata in E  L 23

Mozart                                         Rondo in D  KV 485

Chopin                                        Nocturne in D flat  Op. 27 No. 2

Chopin                                        Ballade No. 3 in A flat  Op. 47

Chopin                                       Mazurka in B minor  Op. 33 No. 4

Chopin                                       Scherzo No. 2 in B flat minor  Op. 31


Liszt – Horowitz                         Funérailles                             

Liszt                                          Consolation No. 3 in D flat

Rachmaninov                             Prelude in G sharp minor Op. 32 No. 12

Chopin                                       Berceuse  Op. 57

Chopin                                       Grande Valse Brillante in A flat Op. 34 No. 1

Chopin                                       Andante Spianato and Grande Polonaise Brillante  Op. 22


Tickets are £20 or £15 + booking fee. They are available online via the link above or here: BOOK NOW

The audience will also be able to see the Celebration of Flowers exhibition during the interval.

Please note our ticket Terms and Conditions.

The proceeds from this concert will be shared between Peterborough Cathedral and The World Trust.

About Janusz Piotrowicz

As a schoolboy, Janusz Piotrowicz made his piano concerto début in Windsor Castle with Rachmaninov 3, and his London recital début with Chopin's 2nd and 3rd Sonatas and the Brahms Paganini Variations. After winning the Nawrocki Prize for the most poetic interpreter in the 1975 Warsaw International Chopin Piano Competition, he launched his international career, giving up to 300 performances a year, and staging three-part epic recital programmes, which included Chopin’s Four Ballades, Four Scherzi, Twenty-four Preludes and Twenty-seven Etudes, as well as several cycles of the complete Beethoven Piano Sonatas and Concertos.  In 1994 he performed to 5,000 people at the Chopin Memorial in Poland's capital, on the 50th anniversary of the Warsaw Uprising.

Piotrowicz is founder and conductor of the Orchestra of the World (L'Orchestre du Monde). His Royal Albert Hall series has included performances of Bach's Mass in B minor (with Chorale du Monde), Dvorak's New World Symphony, Tchaikovsky 5 and Beethoven 5.  Other recent highlights include Tchaikovsky's Pathétique and Rachmaninov 2 with the Hallé, Mahler 1, Tchaikovsky 4 and Shostakovich 5 with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, Brahms 1 and 4, Shostakovich 10 and Sibelius 1 with the Orchestra of Opera North, and the complete Beethoven Symphony Cycle with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in London.

Janusz Piotrowicz is also founder and artistic director of the Ripon International Festival of Music and the Arts.  In 1986, he established The World Trust, which promotes and supports humanitarian causes across the globe


magical tonal mastery … a velvet touch … Master Poet Virtuoso of the Piano’.  Il Tempo, Rome

 ‘infinitely musicianly … alive to the constructional virtues, no less than the emotional content … ability to penetrate into the vast landscape … infinite depth and breadth of expression … authoritative, magisterial’ . Oxford Times

Our lasting memory will be of the sheer unremitting power Piotrowicz unleashed”  Yorkshire Post

‘Fresh and spontaneous ... atmospheric contrasts were especially ravishing ... sublime, celestial surrealism ... power and introspection ... a profound performance’  The Guardian

Share this page: