The Cathedral is closed on the 21st of June from 1pm onwards due to the Kings School Leavers’ Service

Rachmaninov 2 and the City of Peterborough Symphony Orchestra

Saturday 22 June 2024 19:00 - 21:00

A fabulous summer concert from the City of Peterborough Symphony Orchestra, featuring Europe’s most renowned and gifted pianist Katya Apekisheva

Brahms: Academic Festival Overture
Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2 (Soloist Katya Apekisheva)
Dvorak: Symphony No.9 ‘From the New World’

CPSO Conductor Bjorn Bantock has an extensive performance schedule in the UK and abroad and is delighted to bring the Orchestra back to the Cathedral where it began almost 35 years ago.
Brahms celebrates youth in his rousing and jubilant overture, Rachmaninov gives us the world’s most romantic piano concerto, the backdrop to ‘Brief Encounter’, and Dvorak delivers a haunting and nostalgic last symphony ‘From the New World’. A superb programme of rightly popular tuneful classical works. Gaudeamus igitur…let us therefore rejoice!

Photo credit of Katya Apekisheva: Victor Marin

Share this page: